

2010 Jackie Engel Award

What is the Jackie Engel Award?

Created to honor the best of high school journalism advising in Kansas, the Jackie Engel Award is presented annually to an outstanding journalism adviser teaching in the state.

The award honors Engel, who dedicated much of her academic life to studying, writing and teaching high school journalism, and who was the first recipient of the award in 1990. Engel died in 2005, but her legacy of excellence lives on in this award.

Sponsored by the Kansas Associated Collegiate Press, the Jackie Engel Award is given to top candidates who have demonstrated excellence in journalism advising.

Who may apply?

Nominations of any Kansas Scholastic Press Association adviser are welcome from advisers themselves, or from students, colleagues or administrators on behalf of their advisers.

The 2010 winner will be honored at the KACP spring conference awards luncheon in April in Hutchinson, as well as at the KSPA state contest, May 1, in Lawrence.

How should nominations be handled?

Nomination packages should include (1) a cover letter from the person making the nomination, (2) a list of publications the candidate advises, (3) full address and telephone numbers of the applicant and nominator, (4) support materials, such as the candidate's resume and copies of the publication(s) advised, and (5) a minimum of three letters of support from students, colleagues, administrators, parents or journalists.

All materials should be sent to Anne Christiansen-Bullers, Engel Award Coordinator, Box 7, Johnson County Community College, 12345 College Blvd., Overland Park, KS 66210.

When is the due date?

The postmark deadline for applications is *Monday*, *March 1*, *2010*.

Nominate yourself or a worthy colleague now!

Past Award Winners

1990 – Jackie Engel, McPherson High School

1991 – Shirley Gabrielson, Wichita South High School

1992 - Gave Coburn, Wichita North High School

1993 – Mary Ann (Siefkes) McCloud, Newton High School

1994 – Carol Dreiling, McPherson High School

1995 – Celia McDuff, Wichita Northwest High School

1996 - Cindy Moore, Dodge City High School

1997 – Susan Massy, Shawnee Mission Northwest High School

1998 - Phyllis Wipf, Maize High School

1999 - Linda Drake, Chase County

2000 - June DeWeese, Chapman

2001 – Becky Lucas, Shawnee Mission North High School

2002 – Debra Feil, Lucas-Luray

2003 – Dot Stegman, Kapaun Mt. Carmel

2004 - Barbara Padget, Topeka High School

2005 - Allen Wilhite, Humboldt High School

 $2006-\mbox{Cheryl}$ Nelsen, Lawrence Free State High School

2007 – C. Dow Tate, Shawnee Mission East High School

2008 - Kollen Long, Bishop Carroll High School

2009 - Sharon Martin, Wichita East High School