KANSAS SCHOLASTIC PRESS ASSOCIATION

2012 STATE

5A/6A RESULTS

ACADEMICS PHOTOGRAPHY

1st	Olen Lipson	Shawnee Mission North
2nd	Erin Hastings	Bishop Carroll High School
3rd	Jenny O'Grady	Blue Valley North High School
HM	Brenda Soto	Hays High School
HM	Jordan Ratterman	Blue Valley Northwest
HM	Mikala Compton	Shawnee Mission Northwest

ADVERTISING			
1st	Scott Mullen	Blue Valley West	
2nd	Austin Steffens	Wichita High School Northwest	
3rd	Casey Leister	Salina Central High School	
HM	Carson Jett	Salina Central High School	
HM	Emma Pennington	Shawnee Mission East	
HM	Ivy Edington	Wichita High School East	

CUTLINE WRITING

1st	Alex Hernandez	Andover High School
2nd	Erin Browne	Blue Valley High School
3rd	Shelby Dinkel	Salina Central High School
HM	Caroline Engle	Kapaun Mt. Carmel
HM	Evan Nichols	Shawnee Mission East
HM	Mikala Compton	Shawnee Mission Northwest

EDITING

Maegan Kabel	Blue Valley High School
Anna Wonderlich	Blue Valley High School
Katherine Beck	Mill Valley High School
TJ Rigg	Andover High School
Linley Sanders	Blue Valley Northwest
Kayla Dieker	Manhattan High School
	Katherine Beck TJ Rigg Linley Sanders

EDITORIAL CARTOON

1st	Megan Murphy	Blue Valley Northwest
2nd	Anderson Wall	Wichita High School East
3rd	Courtney Swartzbeck	Andover Central High School
HM	Alyssa Napaisan	Blue Valley Northwest
HM	Matti Crabtree	Shawnee Mission East
HM	Garrett Wilson	Shawnee Mission West

EDITORIAL WRITING

1st	Damien Gilbert	Wichita High School East
2nd	Maddy Wilson	Blue Valley West
3rd	Miranda Davis	Lawrence Free State High School
HM	Emily Johnson	Mill Valley High School
HM	Michelle Brox	Blue Valley West

HMMichelle BroxBlue Valley WestHMChelsea ButlerOlathe South High School

FEATURE WRITING

1st	Molly Bogner	Bishop Carroll High School
2nd	Robyn Herbert	Andover High School
3rd	Erin Thompson	Campus High School
HM	Kristina Milewski	Mill Valley High School
HM	Chris Heady	Shawnee Mission East
HM	Brianna Leyden	Shawnee Mission Northwest

HEADLINE WRITING

1st	Sarah Darby	Mill Valley High School
2nd	Jill Applegate	Mill Valley High School
3rd	Emily Wood	Salina Central High School
HM	Hannah Johnson	Andover Central High School
HM	TJ Rigg	Andover High School
HM	Dustin Mulkey	Hays High School

INFOGRAPHICS

1st	Eric Luce	Salina Central High School
2nd	Mary McDermott	Maize High School
3rd	Evan Nichols	Shawnee Mission East
HM	Sara Naatz	Blue Valley High School
HM	Roxy Townsend	Wichita High School East
HM	Teanna Totten	Lawrence Free State High School

NEWS PAGE DESIGN

1st	Kennedy Burgess	Shawnee Mission East
2nd	Tom Lynch	Shawnee Mission East
3rd	Jill Applegate	Mill Valley High School
HM	Katie Schneider	Andover High School
HM	Lauren Kassien	Blue Valley West

HM Maria Davison Shawnee Mission Northwest

NEWS SPORTS WRITING

1st	Erin O'Neill	Blue Valley Northwest
2nd	Tess Hart	Olathe South High School
3rd	Jared Ohm	Bishop Carroll High School
HM	Alec Main	Salina South High School
HM	Mike Stanton	Olathe North High School
HM	Casey Lee	Shawnee Mission South

NEWS WRITING

1st	Jordan Huesers	Blue Valley High School
2nd	Alex Shaw	Washington High School
3rd	Scott Mullen	Blue Valley West
HM	Olivia Zody	Hays High School
HM	Rachel Walker	Kapaun Mt. Carmel
HM	Brenda Valdivia	Newton High School

PHOTO ILLUSTRATION

1st	Kate McCrossen	Blue Valley Southwest
2nd	Nate Compton	Shawnee Mission Northwest
3rd	Rachel Hodges	Salina Central High School
HM	Emily Peer	Andover Central High School
HM	Travis Kingsley	Bishop Carroll High School
HM	Diane Calderon	Shawnee Mission North

SPORTS PHOTOGRAPHY

1st	Danielle Norton	Shawnee Mission East
2nd	Nathan Alspaw	Derby High School
3rd	Erin Browne	Blue Valley High School
HM	Zac London	Andover Central High School
HM	Carly Granato	Mill Valley High School
HM	Brittany Bonsignore	Shawnee Mission Northwest

STUDENT LIFE PHOTOGRAPHY

1st	Kelsey Floyd	Mill Valley High School
2nd	Anna Varriano	Blue Valley High School
3rd	Monica Castellon	Shawnee Mission Northwest
HM	Jordan Reinhardt	Blue Valley Northwest
HM	Sarah Dean	Shawnee Mission Northwest
HM	Sarah Rush	Topeka High School

THEME DEVELOPMENT & GRAPHICS

1st	Angela Vuong	Wichita High School Southeast
2nd	Callie Byrnes, Kristin Enyart	Shawnee Mission North
3rd	Forrest Munro	Lawrence High School
HM	Hannah Keating	Bishop Carroll High School
HM	Kate Martens, Shelby Dinkel	Salina Central High School
HM	Tucker Love	Shawnee Mission North

VIDEO NEWS PACKAGE

1st	Nicholas Patterson	Blue Valley High School
2nd	Allison Mackey, Jacob Patterson, Ty Smith	Mill Valley High School
3rd	Dakota Rowlison, Eric Luce, Ruby Garcia	Salina Central High School
HM	Kendall Kandt	Hays High School
HM	Dalton Boehm, Nathan Walker	Shawnee Mission East
HM	Duncan Maclachlan, Thomas Allen	Shawnee Mission East

YEARBOOK COPY WRITING

1st	Ali Self	Andover Central High School
2nd	Karlee Cassidy	Blue Valley High School
3rd	Regina Yan	Shawnee Mission South
HM	Kara Katona	Blue Valley Southwest
HM	Olivia Smith	Kapaun Mt. Carmel
HM	Shelbi Markham	Topeka West High School

YEARBOOK LAYOUT

1st	Katherine Beck	Mill Valley High School
2nd	Caitlyn Massy	Shawnee Mission Northwest
3rd	Caleb Amundson	Shawnee Mission Northwest
HM	Erin Urban	Andover Central High School
HM	Maria Watson	Lawrence High School
HM	Tucker Love	Shawnee Mission North

YEARBOOK SPORTS WRITING

1st	Patrick Collins	Andover Central High School
2nd	Matt Gannon	Shawnee Mission East
3rd	Kylee Filley	Hays High School
HM	Will Reid	Salina Central High School
HM	Emily Grantham	Blue Valley West
HM	Anna Weaver	Maize High School