(785) 864-0605


Kansas schools clean up at NSPA awards show

SEATTLE — Four Kansas publications from three schools earned Pacemaker Awards Saturday afternoon at the National Scholastic Press Association’s awards ceremony at the Washington State Convention Center.

Shawnee Mission East led by earning Pacemakers for the Harbinger Online website and the Hauberk yearbook. Yearbooks from Shawnee Mission North (The Indian) and Shawnee Mission Northwest (The Lair) also won Pacemakers, which are emblematic of the best high school journalism in the nation. Only 44 publications — including websites and yearbooks — earned Pacemakers on Saturday.

JagWire News Online from Mill Valley and the digital yearbook from Kapaun Mt. Carmel had been named finalists prior to the convention.

Earlier in that same ceremony, Linley Sanders from Blue Valley Northwest received the $1,000 NSPA Journalism Honor Roll Scholarship from NSPA. Sanders was chosen over 77 other candidates because of an essay she wrote detailing an interview she conducted with a student dying of cancer.

Finally, seven Kansas schools earned recognition in the NSPA Best of Show competition, in which publications staffs bring copies of their best work from this year to be judged against hundreds of other publications from around the country.

Here’s the list of Kansas publications that earned Best of Show awards:

  • The Harbinger, Shawnee Mission East, 1st Place, Newspaper Tabloid 13+ Pages
  • Husky Headlines,” Blue Valley Northwest, 2nd Place, Broadcast Program
  • Jag Wire News Online, Mill Valley, 2nd Place, Small School Website
  • Indian, Shawnee Mission North, 2nd Place, Yearbook 325+ Pages
  • The World, Topeka, 3rd Place, News Magazine
  • The Northwest Passage, Shawnee Mission Northwest, 3rd Place, Large School Website
  • Lair, Shawnee Mission Northwest, 3rd Place, Yearbook 325+ Pages
  • The JAG, Mill Valley, 4th Place, Yearbook, 225-274 Pages
  • Hauberk, Shawnee Mission East, 4th Place, Yearbook 325+ Pages
  • JagWire, Mill Valley, 4th Place, Newspaper Tabloid 13+ Pages
  • Reflections, Blue Valley, 6th Place, Yearbook, 275-324 Pages
  • The Northwest Passage, 7th Place, Newspaper Tabloid 13+ Pages
  • Tiger Print Online, Blue Valley, 8th Place, Small School Website
  • JagWire, Mill Valley, 10th Place, Newspaper Special Edition

Sunday at the NSA/JEA convention, Kansas High School Journalist of the Year Sarah Darby of Mill Valley will learn if she also will win a cash award from the Journalism Education Association as one of the nation’s top six student journalists. She already earned $1,250 from KSPA for her honor in Kansas.

JEA also on Sunday will hand out its Write-Off Competition awards from the Seattle convention. Follow KSPA’s Twitter @kspastaff for those results.

Post a comment

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop