The KSPA Administrator of the Year Award recognizes secondary school administrators who have stood up for the First Amendment and his/her students. The winner is honored at the State meeting in May following a presentation at the administrator’s home school district.

Download the Administrator of the Year form here. 

Past Administrator of the Year winners include:

Here are the five Administrator of the Year criteria:

  • Supports the Kansas Student Publications Act and the First Amendment
  • Provides adequate and appropriate financial support for student media
  • Understands the importance of journalism’s place in a complete secondary school curriculum
  • Encourages academic and professional growth, both for students and for journalism teachers
  • Provides personal support and encouragement for students and journalism advisers