The Official Web Site of the Kansas Scholastic Press Association

Kansas Scholastic Press Association..

Board of Directors

KSPA is located at the University of Kansas in the William Allen White School of Journalism, but its Board of Directors is comprised of high school teachers from around the state.

Feel free to contact any member of the board for information regarding KSPA and its programs, contests and conferences.

Board Minutes

KSPA is governed by a constitution and general operating procedures posted here.

Regional Map

KSPA regional map voting

The KSPA board is comprised of advisers elected from five areas of the state as drawn by the executive director and approved the by KSPA board. Board members elected in April 2014 and earlier represented schools based on this map.

KSPA Board 2016-2017



Kathy Habiger (Term ends May 2017)

Mill Valley High School

5900 Monticello Road

Shawnee, KS 66226




(Chairs Contest Committee)

Jessica Bowman (Assumes role of president in May 2017)

Canton-Galva High School

506 S. Kansas

PO Box 275

Canton, 67428

(620) 628-4401



(Chairs Nominations Committee)

Jim McCrossen (Term ends in May 2017)

Blue Valley Northwest High School

13260 Switzer

Overland Park, KS 66213




Amy Morgan (Term ends May 2017)

Shawnee Mission West High School

8800 W. 85th St.

Overland Park, KS 66212



Board Members Elected Under Previous Regions


Area 1 Representative

Barb Tholen (Term ends May 2017)

Lawrence High School

1901 Louisiana

Lawrence, KS 66046

(816) 682-3293


Area 2 Representative

Jeff Welch (Term ends May 2017)

Wichita High School South

701 W 33rd St. South

Wichita, KS 67217

(316) 973-5597

Seat left vacant by Kristin Baker. Welch appointed by board president Kathy Habiger


Area 3 Representative

Kristy Nyp (Term ends May 2017)

Manhattan High School

2100 Poyntz Avenue

Manhattan, KS 66502

(785) 587-2114


Area 4 Representative

Vacant seat (Term is scheduled to end May 2017)


Area 5 Representative

Todd Vogts (Term ends May 2017)

Sterling High School

308 E. Washington St.

Sterling, KS

(620) 278-2171


Board Members Elected Under New Regions


Area 1 representative

Jason Curtis (Term ends May 2018)

Lincoln Junior-Senior High School

110 E. Franklin

Lincoln, KS 67455

(785) 479-0268


Area 2 representative

no candidate (Term ends May 2018)


Area 3 representative

Spencer O’Daniel (Term ends May 2018)

Wichita High School West

820 S. Osage

Wichita, KS 67213



Area 4 representative

Emily Smith (Term ends May 2018)

Pittsburg High School

1978 E. 4th St.

Pittsburg, KS 66724

(620) 249-7895


Area 5 representative

Diana Klote (Term ends May 2018)

Blue Valley North High School

12200 Lamar Ave.

Overland Park, KS 66209

(913) 239-3247


Member At-Large

Dan Loving (Term ends May 2018)

Maize High School

11600 W. 45th St. North

Maize, KS 67101



Non-Voting Members of the Board


JEA Liaison

Susan Massy

Shawnee Mission Northwest High School

12701 W. 67th St.

Shawnee, KS 66216



Middle School Liaisons

Laura Hayden

Derby Middle School

801 E. Madison

Derby, KS 67037

(316) 788-8580


David Maneth

Mayberry Cultural and Fine Arts Magnet Middle School

207 S. Sheridan St.

Wichita, KS 67213

(316) 729-9695



Eric Thomas

University of Kansas

317 Stauffer-Flint Hall

1435 Jayhawk Blvd.

Lawrence, KS 66045-7515





The Official Web Site of the Kansas Scholastic Press Association
Board of Directors