The Official Web Site of the Kansas Scholastic Press Association

Kansas Scholastic Press Association..


KSPA celebrates scholastic journalism, the students who produce it and the advisers who inspire the students.

To that end, KSPA administers various awards programs. Click on the links to pages below to access the PDF files that include details about and applications for each of the awards.

  • The Sister Rita Jeanne Scholarship program recognizes the Kansas student Journalist of the Year, who then moves on to national JOY competition through the Journalism Education Association.
  • The Jackie Engel Award annually recognizes the state’s top scholastic journalism adviser.
  • The KSPA Hall of Fame recognizes long-time friends of scholastic journalism in the state.
  • The Administrator of the Year recognizes secondary school administrators who have stood up for the First Amendment and their students.
  • The Ad Astra Award honors an individual who has displayed a significant effort to 1) continually improve his/her journalism program OR 2) make a significant contribution to the profession of advising in Kansas
  • The Sunflower Award honors a new adviser who shows enthusiasm and dedication to building a strong journalism program and aims to encourage him/her to remain in the profession.
  • The Friend of KSPA Award honors a professional journalist, a journalism educator or any individual or group that makes a significant contribution to Kansas scholastic journalism.

*Updated 2/21/2014

The Official Web Site of the Kansas Scholastic Press Association