Kansas Scholastic Press Association

Ad Astra Award

 This award honors an individual who has displayed a significant effort to

1) continually improve his/her journalism program

2) make a significant contribution to the profession of advising in Kansas.

Winners will receive a $250 cash prize, a plaque, and a complimentary one-year membership to KSPA.

View the Ad Astra form here. 

Ad Astra winners include:

  • 2011-12, Jane Wagner, Russell High School
  • 2012-13, Susan Gray, Wichita Southeast High School
  • 2013-14, Jessica Bowman, Canton-Galva High School
  • 2014-15, Laurie Folsom, Lawrence Free State High School
  • 2015-16, Jill Holder, Bonner Springs High School
  • 2016-17, J.D. Garber, Salina Central High School





Providing support and leadership in scholastic journalism
Ad Astra Award