Kansas Scholastic Press Association..

Sunflower Award

The Sunflower Award recognizes a new adviser who shows enthusiasm and dedication to building a strong journalism program and aims to encourage him/her to remain in the profession. 

Download the Sunflower Award application here. 

Sunflower Winners:

  • 2011 — Michelle Wilmes, Ottawa High School
  • 2012 — Brandi Stout, Kansas City Washington High School
  • 2013 — Barbara Tholen, Lawrence High School
  • 2014 — Robert Bovaird, Louisburg High School
  • 2015 — Laurie Folsom, Free State High School
  • 2016 — Dan Loving, Maize High School
  • 2017 — Spencer O’Daniel, Wichita West High School
  • 2018— John Walter, Junction City High School


The Official Web Site of the Kansas Scholastic Press Association
Sunflower Award