(785) 864-0605


2019 All-Kansas Spring Winners

Congratulations to the following KSPA member staffs who earned All-Kansas status for their news publications, news websites or video news programs.

For news publications, our judges critiqued a total of 36 publications and awarded 15 All-Kansas awards. In news websites, 6 entries were chosen from 14 submissions. Judges were supplied critique booklets and a copy of (or link to) the entry in March. The completed electronic critique booklets will be emailed back to each adviser.

Each All-Kansas school earns an All-Kansas plaque. Winners will be announced and presented with the plaque at the KSPA State Contest opening ceremony May 4, 2019 at the Kansas Union at the University of Kansas.

Please contact KSPA by email with any questions or corrections.


All-Kansas News Publications

4A All-Kansas News Publication

Piper High School

The Pirates’ Log

Editors Scout Molder and Lauren Textor

Adviser Amanda Goering

 5A All-Kansas News Publications

Andover Central High School

The Spotlight

Editors Kinsley Ochsner and Alexandra Schumann

Adviser Julia Calabro

Hays High School

The Guidon

Editors Isabelle Braun and Allison Hillebrand

Adviser Bill Gasper

Kapaun Mt. Carmel Catholic High School


Editors Hannah Harpel, Thomas Searl and John Biehler

Adviser Elaine Robinson

Maize High School


Editors Casey Loving and Abby McCoy

Adviser Dan Loving


Pittsburg High School

The Booster Redux

Editor Nicole Konopelko

Adviser Emily Smith


Salina Central High School

The Pylon

Editor Madeline Paradis

Adviser J.D. Garber

6A All-Kansas News Publications

Blue Valley North High School

The North Star

Editors Taylor Mills, Sooim Kang and Shantha Burt

Adviser Diana Klote

Blue Valley Northwest High School

The Express

Editors Anna Cowden and Anna Levine

Adviser Jim McCrossen

Lawrence High School

The Budget

Editors Macy Landes, Conner Schmaus, Gary Schmidt, Anna Parnell, Emily Kruse and Sami Turner

Adviser Barbara Tholen

Manhattan High School

The Mentor

Editors Kaitlin Clark, Hailey Eilert, Sophia Comas, Brianna Carmack and Hannah Heger

Adviser Kristy Nyp

Shawnee Mission East High School

The Harbinger

Editors Emily Fey and Lizzie Kahle

Adviser Dow Tate

Shawnee Mission North High School

The Mission

Editors Grace Altenhofen and Cale Chapman

Adviser Becky Tate

Shawnee Mission Northwest High School

Northwest Passage

Editors Jake Ditto and Annalissa Houser

Adviser Susan Massy

Shawnee Mission South High School

The Patriot

Editors Avery Woods and Miah Clark

Adviser Tucker Love

All-Kansas Online News

4A All-Kansas Online News

Piper High School

KC Piper News

Editors Kaleb Brown and Taylor McEachron

Adviser Amanda Goering

5A All-Kansas Online News

Maize High School

Maize News

Editors Casey Loving and Abby McCoy

Adviser Dan Loving

6A All-Kansas Online News

Blue Valley Northwest High School


Editors Jaelen Matthews and Ethan Knauth

Adviser Jim McCrossen

Junction City High School

Blue Jay Online

Editors Lexe West, Morgan Deering, Taryn Tanguay and Noah Johnson

Adviser John Walter

Mill Valley High School

Mill Valley News

Editors Marah Shulda, Katya Gillig and Elizabeth Joseph

Adviser Kathy Habiger

Shawnee Mission East High School

The Harbinger

Editors Will Tulp, Annabelle Cook, Jackie Cameron and Ben Henschel

Adviser Dow Tate

All-Kansas Video News Show

5A All-Kansas Video News Show

Blue Valley Southwest High School

Wolf Byte

Editors Matt McCabe and Lauren Golec

Adviser Steve Cortez

Post a comment

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop