(785) 864-0605


Kansas students shine at JEA/NSPA convention in Portland

Students from Andover High School, Goddard, Shawnee Mission East, Shawnee Mission Northwest and Shawnee Mission West won several awards this past weekend at the JEA/NSPA national convention in Portland, Ore.

Foremost among the winners was East’s Tim Shedor, the Kansas High School Journalist of the Year. Shedor was one of six runners-up in the national Journalist of the Year competition and won a $2,000 scholarship from JEA. Shedor will be awarded a $1,000 scholarship from KSPA at the State Contest opening ceremonies, May 1 at the Kansas Union in Lawrence.

Kansas students won 18 awards in the convention’s write-off competition.

Those winners (“Superior” represents the top rating, followed by “Excellent” and “Honorable Mention”):

  • Katie Hamlin, Goddard, Feature Writing, Superior
  • Caitlyn Massy, SM Northwest, Student Life Photography, Superior
  • Anna Petrow, SM East, Photography Portfolio, Superior
  • Courtney Moore, Andover High, Feature Writing, Excellent
  • Alyssa Parsons, SM West, Photography Portfolio, Excellent
  • Tim Shedor, SM East, Feature Writing, Excellent
  • Corbin Barnds, SM East, Yearbook Copy/Caption: Sports, Excellent
  • Ashley Porter, Goddard, YB Layout: Inside Pages, Excellent
  • Kelsey Phillips, Andover High, Computer Design: Headline, Excellent
  • Evan Nichols, SM East, Computer Design: Infographics, Excellent
  • Lane White, Andover High, YB Student Life Photography, Honorable Mention
  • Whitaker Sherk, SM East, YB Layout: Theme, Honorable Mention
  • Katie Pool, Andover High, Review Writing, Honorable Mention
  • Alex Lamb, SM East, Review Writing, Honorable Mention
  • Lana Fanous, SM West, Review Writing, Honorable Mention
  • Corbin Mihelic, Andover High, Sports Writing, Honorable Mention
  • Meredith Morris, Goddard, Sports Writing, Honorable Mention
  • Alysabeth Albano, SM East, News Writing, Honorable Mention

In all, 440 of 1,065 students received awards: 72 were judged superior, 138 were excellent and 230 earned honorable mention.

The JEA/NSPA Fall Convention will be in Kansas City, Mo., Nov. 11-14 at the Convention Center. Kathy Habiger from Mill Valley and Amy Morgan from Shawnee Mission West are the local co-chairs. Here’s the brochure.

Post a comment

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop