(785) 864-0605

Eric Thomas

State Contest modified for COVID-19

Our board and staff have been closely monitoring the spread of COVID-19 and discussing how KSPA can provide support for student journalism while keeping you and your students safe. At critical times like these, I am so grateful to have a board of directors made up of such thoughtful advisers…...

Read more

2019 Administrator of the Year

ADMINISTRATOR OF THE YEAR 2019 The KSPA Administrator of the Year Award recognizes secondary school administrators who have stood up for the First Amendment and his/her students.  The nominee should meet the following five criteria: 1) Supports the Kansas Student Publications Act and the First Amendment; 2) Provides adequate and…...

Read more

Kansas middle schools earn dozens of awards

Congratulations to the Kansas middle school students who placed in this year’s Journalism Education Association national media contest. Students from Andover, Derby North and Turner middle schools earned a total of 28 awards for the state of Kansas. Three of the 35 superior awards also went to Kansas students. Here…...

Read more

Middle School Awards 2019

Congratulations to the winners of the KSPA Middle School Awards for 2019! And a special thanks to Laura Hayden, our middle school representative, along with her collection of judges for their work in judging and administering the contest. Feature Story Superior Kate Henry – Chisholm Trail Middle School, Adviser: Samantha…...

Read more

KSPA Middle School Workshop 2019

Please complete the form by March 30 to give Laura Hayden your feedback in preparing for this workshop. Join us at our annual workshop on Saturday, April 6.  It will be held at Derby North Middle School, 3100 N Rock Road, Derby, Kansas 67037. The workshops are from 9:30 a.m.-12:30…...

Read more